BIM Texas Alliance
Home About Us News Leadership Committee Member List
  Save the date for BIM Texas Conference 2012

BTA Conference

November 8 (Thursday) - 9 (Friday), 2012

Grand Hyatt Hotel in San Antonio



For more information, visit

  New members joined the BIM Texas Alliance
  UT Southwestern Medical Center   Guillermo Ramos
Director of CIP Construction Services
  UT MD Anderson Cancer Center  

Scott L Vetter
Supervising Architect
Research and Education Facilities

Mark D Handley
Senior MEP Designer
Research and Education Facilities - Lab Design and Construction

  Facilities Management Committee launched

The Facilities Management Committee, which is led by Kurt Dierking at Parkland Hospital, was launched in September 2012. The mission of the Facilities Management Committee includes:

  • Explore and research best practices for the effective and functional utilization of Building Information Modeling (BIM) to Facilities Management (FM) & Integrated Workplace Management System (IWMS)
  • Set standards and principles that prescribes information data types, nomenclatures, structures and data points that ensures a smooth and detailed transition of Building Information Modeling (BIM) into Facilities Management Systems and Integrated Workplace Management Systems

The action items of the Facilities Management Committee are:

  • Establish R&D project list
  • Establish committee members and key contributors

If you are interested in joining the Facilities Management Committee and working on the R&D projects, please contact Kurt Dierking at

  Committee Meeting on August 24, 2012 in Dallas

The September meeting was held at the Walter P Moore's office in Austin on September 21. The following members attended the meeting:

  • Michael Burkholder (Manhattan Construction)
  • Todd Harper (Austin Commercial) - over the phone
  • Kurt Dierking (Parkland Health & Hospital System) - over the phone
  • Vahid Faghihi (Texas A&M University)
  • Greg P. Hall (US Army Corps of Engineers) - over the phone
  • Elyssa Horvath (SpawGlass) - over the phone
  • Julian Kang (Texas A&M University)
  • Sharareh Kermanshachi (Texas A&M University)
  • Jinhoon Lee (Texas A&M University)
  • George Pontikes (Satterfield & Pontikes)
  • Sam Sprouse (Satterfield & Pontikes)
  • David Trevino (City of Dallas)

In addition, the following industry friends joined the meeting:

  • Luis Berumen (Bartlett Cockes General Contractor)
  • Jerry Campbell (IKERD Consulting) - over the phone
  • Adrian Cantu (DPR Construction)
  • Joshua Coward (Hensel Phelps Construction)
  • Rusty Crownover (IMAGINiT Technologies)
  • Alex Demogines (FARO Technology)
  • Mike Flieller (Autodesk)
  • Will Ikerd (IKERD Consulting)
  • Nick Kovach (WRA Architects)
  • Derrell Smith (Mendicant Architect)
  • Chris Tisdel (Gehry Technology)
  • John Warrick (Texas Department of Transportation)

Topics discussed during the meeting include:

  • Conference Committee (led by Elyssa Horvath of SpawGlass) - The status of the breakout session presentations, the draft program, and the sponsorship opportunity of the annual conference was presented.

  • BIM Evaluation Committee (led by George Pontikes of S&P Construction) - The draft BIM evaluation guideline, revised by Vahid Faghihi at Texas A&M University, was presented and discussed. Action items for updating the guideline was also discussed.

  • Facilities Management Committee (led by Kurt Dierking of Parkland Hospital) - The mission of the Facilities Management Committee was presented. Potential research items were presented and discussed.

Will Ikerd of IKERD Consulting gave a presentation over the AIA and AGC's LOD (level of detail) work.


GSA Greater Southwest Region

USACOE Fort Worth District

City of Dallas

Bexar County

Parkland Health & Hospital System

The Methodist Hospital System

UT MD Anderson Cancer Center

UT Southwestern Medical Center

Texas A&M University

North East Independent School District

Austin Commercial

PDG Architects

Manhattan Construction

Satterfield & Pontikes


Walter P Moore


    Copyright © 2011 BIM Texas Alliance. All Rights Reserved.